Star Wars Dinners

Again, you can’t really do just one dinner party and this one I had written down all of my plans. Now I ended up having to skip some of my plans and combine because we did more than one movie per night but still I thought the menus were fun and delicious. (I was able to incorporate some of my ideas into a Star Wars Baby Shower for my friend).

Phantom Menace:
crunchy-taco-cups-021c3f382c0376f20f9c93c4a3e4ea9d33Taco pods- Basically a nacho prepared in a muffin tin (delicious!!!)

Naboo Wine-poached rhubarb pods- This recipe is from David Lebovitz and it was really delicious. The wine is from Naboo because apparently in the Star Wars Universe, Naboo is known for their wine vintages… so I went for it and it was good.

Attack of the Clones:
Tiingilar (jambalaya casserole)- Mandalorian food is known for its heat. Tiingilar is described as “an intensely spicy Mandalorian casserole made with meat, vegetables, and potent spices.” So I went cajun for spice and heartiness of the casserole. The Jambalaya Casserole recipe came from Taste of Home. 4e3f66a77b837930b9a1514a2734ffacexps23234_th10524d39c

Cheddar/Jalapeno Muffins- pretty self explanatory. I actually didn’t get to make this so I don’t have a recipe, but I thought it would go well with the Jambalaya.

Individual Pear Pie- These were totally different and fun. I feel like they needed something a little extra, a little different flavor profile. I got the recipe from Share My Kitchen and it needed maybe a boost of acid or… something. Maybe I’ll play with it the next time around.

Revenge of the Sith:
pot-o-chiliMustafar Chili- Yeah baby we are going the hottest of the hot!!!!! Spicy chili to help us sympathize with Anakin as our mouths were burning and he catches fire… well sort of. I learned how to do chili from my dad so I don’t have a recipe but…. typically my chili is more tomato based with kidney beans, green peppers, jalapenos, onion, cactus (sometimes), and hamburger. It always varies on the heat level from day to day and for our movie… let’s just 231388say there may have been lot’s of cornbread on hand.

Yoda Key Lime Pie- This is a straight up delicious Key Lime pie. I chose the best rated Key Lime Pie from AllRecipes and just went for it.

New Hope:
Trash Compactor Stew- Everything plus the kitchen sink goes into a stew like this. Again, I don’t have a recipe (if you want one just leave a comment and I can pull something out). The base is stewed tomatoes and beef broth and possibly a cup of red wine, then add kidney beans, tortellini, hamburger or stew meat, green beans, potatoes, carrots, season to your desire (salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary, etc.), add a couple of bay leaves and you are good to go. Just make sure there isn’t anything still swimming like in the movie!!!

Death Star Rolls- My family calls them bullet balls (funny family story of forgotten ingredients) and they are a necessity at almost every large family dinner. Fluffy, warm and as big as your fists, these are the best for wiping up the last bit of liquid out of your bowl.

2 env. dry yeast, 1/4 c. warm water, 1 1/2 c. buttermilk (heated to lukewarm), 1/2 c. cooking oil, 1 tsp. salt, 4 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 tsp. baking soda

Dissolve yeast in warm water. Combine buttermilk, sugar, oil and salt. Sift flour and baking soda and mix yeast with buttermilk mixture. Add flour and mix well. Let stand for 10 minutes. Roll into desired shapes; put in pan and let stand for 30 minutes covered. Bake in 425 degree oven for 10-12 minutes. Brush with melted butter and cover with towel.

Trench Run Banana Split- Just run right down the middle with traditional banana, vanilla/chocolate/strawberry ice cream and toppings. Sure to please everyone. I would make it a DIY so that you aren’t taking orders and trying to get everything out. If you want to make it a bit fancier, you might try freezing the banana halves and then dipping in chocolate and refreezing to have chocolate covered bananas…. could be fun!

Empire Strikes Back:
Yoda’s Ears- Yummmmm Edemame pods just heated and covered in salt. But if you want a dipping sauce this looks yummy! Sweet and Spicy Soy Glazed Edemame
Cloud City (cauliflour) Soup
Nerf Steak
Astroid Field Popcorn
Baked Hoth

Return of the Jedi:
Thai Fighter Battle
Interceptor Rangoons
Wistie Fest Pie

Leave a Reply

