Themiscyran Feast

on

With Wonder Woman set to come out soon (knock on wood that we won’t be disappointed) I’ve been thinking about Wonder Woman’s story and how much rich culture is tied up into her Greek heritage. I’ve done a bit of research and even though the Amazon women do not need to eat, they frequently had feasts of celebration (especially when they had their Olympic type games). So with Ancient Greece as my inspiration I set to find the perfect Greek feast to accompany the (hopefully) excellent movie…. I may take down the post if it turns out to be awful… just kidding (maybe).

*disclaimer- I did get quite a few ideas from Recipe Girl in fact, it was my starting point. Once I complete the dinner party, I will make edits to this post to show how I changed the menu for my own purposes and tastes

Appetizers:

Goat’s cheese with olives, lemon and thyme
Crispy Rosemary flatbread
Various meats
Hummus

Main Course:

Greek Salad (lettuce, olives, feta cheese, onions)
Leg of Lamb with Garlic and Rosemary
– Meat in ancient Greece was reserved for occasions because it was rare. It is
generally assumed that Greeks used fish more than their Mediterranean
neighbors. Mostly their diet was vegetarian with legumes.
Spinach, Feta and Pine Nut Tart
Roasted Garbanzo beans and garlic with Swiss Chard
Greek Potatoes and Parsnips with Lemon Vinagrette

Dessert:

Honey Lemon Cake
– Traditional (oldest dessert known in Ancient Greece) honey cake with a honey
lemon drizzle
Frozen Greek Yogurt with Honey and Walnuts
– Really excited to find this website that shows how to make your own frozen
yogurt

 

 

Leave a Reply

